Reviews voor Turnitin | Glassdoor.nl

Reviews van Turnitin

Bijgewerkt op 18 sep 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

4.2
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
85%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
96%
Waardeert directeur
Turnitin CEO Chris Caren
Chris Caren
87 Beoordelingen
  1. "A company that truly cares about their customers and their employees"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Utrecht
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Turnitin voor 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    After 5,5 years, I am still a happy person to work for Turnitin. Turnitin has a positive value, shows flexibility, and understanding to the employees.

    Minpunten

    It's a great place to work. So, there is nothing bad to say.

    Advies aan management

    They're doing a great job.

    Turnitin2018-05-03
  2. Nuttig (1)

    "An ambitious company with plenty of growth possibilities"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Utrecht
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Turnitin voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    - Product is making a difference to the educational world. We have a great story to tell to our (potential) customers. - Senior management is great - each and every member of the executive staff is very approachable and encourages people to talk with them, especially the CEO. - The Utrecht location is great as its right in the heart of Utrecht. Lunch is fully paid for and we all share the same table. Great... way to stay in touch with colleagues you usually don't interact with that much. There are many different nationalities from all over Europe, so it's really diverse in terms of people. - Taking initiative is actively encouraged in the company. - Great colleagues around the globe! All in all a great company to work for where you can learn a lot and do a lot.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    - If you have to work a lot with the US staff you'll have to be flexible with your work hours since there's 9 hours time difference. - There's a lot of history in the company which has shaped the company as it is today, in both good and bad ways. - We jump to technologies before determining what our requirements are - we need better process around that. We probably need better process around plenty of other... things. - We aim to be a global company but we're not quite there yet.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    The center of gravity of the company is in Oakland. If we want to be a truly global company that paradigm needs to shift. Also don't forget the individual contributors of a team - we seem to focus a bit too much on A-players in the company.

    Turnitin2015-12-14
  3. "Great culture and trust in employees"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Operations in Newcastle upon Tyne, Engeland
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij Turnitin

    Pluspunten

    Organisational culture is great, you feel valued and trusted. Very inclusive environment, no matter which department or team you are in. There is huge emphasis on personal development and learning. Everyone feels great about the services and products we are offering to our clients.

    Minpunten

    I don't have any negative things to share.

    Turnitin2019-09-18
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Principal Software Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb korter dan een jaar als voltijd bij Turnitin gewerkt

    Pluspunten

    Smart People Interesting Projects Good Benefits free lunch 2-3 times a month

    Minpunten

    Inconsistent Feedback (from different managers)

    Advies aan management

    Make sure new employees get a copy of the job requirements/expectations at the start of their job.

    Turnitin2019-09-09
  5. "Brilliant place and brilliant people"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonymous in Newcastle upon Tyne, Engeland
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij Turnitin

    Pluspunten

    Amazing place to work with plenty of perks and benefits such as social events, fully stocked kitchen, free food on a regular basis, gym membership reimbursement and more. The company presents plenty of opportunity for career progression and recognises your hard work. Management style is very good, with regular 1-1's and ongoing support, and HR go out of their way to encourage an open door policy. People are... generally very friendly and welcoming.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    As a company the focus is, at times, not where it should be.

    Turnitin2019-07-31
  6. "Exciting place to Work"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij Turnitin voor meer dan 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Forward looking company with an altruistic culture in regards to customers and employees. Very strong leadership team.

    Minpunten

    Different directions from ownership during Private Equity transition caused some consternation and confusion around direction.

    Turnitin2019-05-23
  7. Nuttig (3)

    "Great company & people!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonymous in Oakland, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Turnitin voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    - Mission driven company that is stable & growing long-term - Smart, kind & dedicated employees who genuinely care about education and products - Excellent benefits and work life balance - Cutting edge tech stack & experienced team of Engineers & ML Scientists that are modernizing an already strong product suite. Lots of data & exciting challenges - Fun working environment: snacks, ping pong..., happy hours, book & game clubs, etc. etc.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    - Company at times slow to make changes - innovative but cautious as a market leader - Compensation is fair but tough to compete with inflated Bay Area startups. Benefits are great though and company is stable - Collaborative environment where people mostly work well together, but like in all cross-functional environments there can be occasional friction and people are sometimes too "nice" to share critical... feedback

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    There's a lot of good (see pros)- keep that and continue to flex to make sure the company continues to work for its employees. Management seems aware of how the company can improve so hopefully they will continue to address those concerns. Managers should hold each other accountable, but encourage their teams to work with and not against each other by mirroring that behavior and staying aligned on common goals.

    Turnitin2019-04-01
  8. "Great People, Values, a Technical Muddle"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Member of Technical Staff in Oakland, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij Turnitin voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Company has a relatively diverse workforce for a tech company. There are several interesting products and projects to work on; the tech can be interesting and fun if you're on the right team and have a good manager. The company is profitable and recent acquisitions have strategically made sense. Uptown Oakland is a great place to work. Hanging out with your co-workers after hours isn't really part of the culture.

    Minpunten

    If you interview, be sure to determine which teams and project you will be working for, and assess your future manager carefully. There are cool kids who get management favor and other teams that are resource starved and mostly dealing with tech debt. Hanging out with your co-workers after hours isn't really part of the culture.

    Advies aan management

    The tech bros aren't completely kept at bay but it's generally hassle-free environment, keep it that way. Work hard to make all teams feel equally valued. Recognize outstanding first line managers, and hold people accountable who aren't first-rate.

    Turnitin2019-04-16

    Reactie van Turnitin

    May 18, 2019VP of Engineering

    Thank you for your feedback. With regards to your comments on resourcing and tech debt, we address resourcing concerns across all of our scrum teams during our quarterly planning sessions, so if any team members have strong opinions about resourcing they can bring them to the attention of the product owners, tech leads or engineering managers that represent those teams. As an example, the need for additional resources to support our legacy systems was identified a couple of quarters ago, and since then we've reallocated some of our existing headcount as well as hired additional full-time engineers to better support those systems. We pride ourselves in being fair and consistent to all constituencies across our employee base. We periodically conduct company-wide employee surveys, and one of the reasons we do that is to capture any discrepancies in how we communicate and/or capture feedback from the different constituencies. If any are discovered, then we take deliberate and measurable actions to address those discrepancies and report back to the employees on our progress.

    Minder weergeven
  9. "Great people, mediocre management"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Devops Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij Turnitin voor meer dan 10 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Great company culture with supportive co-workers. People are very friendly and easy to talk to. Made some very good friends here.

    Minpunten

    Management can't seem to make up their mind about the direction of the company. Lots of initiatives, but not a lot of completion of those initiatives. As a result, there's not a lot of vision for individual contributors; the path for personal career growth is not very clear.

    Advies aan management

    Finish what you start; follow through on your initiatives.

    Turnitin2019-02-23

    Reactie van Turnitin

    February 28, 2019Senior Director of Operations

    Thank you for the feedback! We’re very proud of our culture and workforce at Turnitin. You are correct in stating that the people here are very friendly and easy to talk to, and they are very dedicated to helping Turnitin succeed. At Turnitin, we explore many new opportunities for unique products that compliment our mission of academic integrity. A key principle in software design is Failing Fast. Try new initiatives and recognize quickly when they are not working out, so we can pivot to what does work. We have also spent the past year making it our mission to communicate a stronger vision and direction to our employees moving forward. In addition, we are working closely with the People Team to more clearly define job ladders and leveling expectations in order to give our employees clearer paths for career growth. Thank you so much for your excellent suggestions!

    Minder weergeven
  10. Nuttig (4)

    "Sales Operations Manager"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Monterey, CA
    Niet aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Turnitin voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Nice team with great attitude towards the company and responsibilities

    Minpunten

    Management lack of people management skills

    Turnitin2018-12-28
Er zijn 123 reviews gevonden