Reviews voor ActiveVideo | Glassdoor.nl

Reviews van ActiveVideo

Bijgewerkt op 10 jun 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

Er zijn 40 reviews gevonden

3.1
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
54%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
57%
Waardeert directeur
ActiveVideo CEO Jeff Miller
Jeff Miller
30 Beoordelingen
  1. Nuttig (1)

    "A cozy swamp"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Senior Software Engineer in Hilversum
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb korter dan een jaar als bij ActiveVideo gewerkt

    Pluspunten

    Relaxing, family-like atmosphere, friendly working environment as well as nice and supportive colleagues make it comfortable to work here. The company provides smooth relocation process which is quite important especially if you do it for the first time. Compensation is competitive and slightly above average across the market.

    Minpunten

    Too little of development since the Product is well developed and the company is mostly oriented on maintainance, test coverage and bug fixing. I think I did not write even 500 code lines during these 6 months. If you want to develop something new and implement it in code, probably this is not the best place. Too few opportunities for growth as a developer since there are just 3 teams and there is no large variety of...

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Don't hire developers if you don't need to develop. Or at least inform candidates more truthfully about what they will do in real life.

    ActiveVideo2019-06-10
  2. Nuttig (3)

    "Good atmosphere, lots of opportunities"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Senior Software Engineer in Hilversum
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij ActiveVideo voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    - Smart, friendly, involved colleagues - Great atmosphere, very little stress - Lots of interesting and challenging work to be done - Excellent salary (by Dutch standards at least) - Great work/life balance... no overtime is expected and (occasional) working from home because of kids, doctors, deliveries etc is no problem.

    Minpunten

    - The company is on a clear path towards more agile development, but work remains to be done, mainly outside of development. - Parts of the existing codebase are far from perfect. Luckily this is recognized, but it will take time to fix. - Management could be more assertive, they may be too "soft" from time to time

    Advies aan management

    - Continue on the path towards agile. - Don't be afraid to be more assertive, to take more risky day to day decisions.

    ActiveVideo2019-05-07
  3. Nuttig (2)

    "Smart people, ample freedom, inventing new technology"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Hilversum
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk deeltijd bij ActiveVideo voor 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    At ActiveVideo I work with very smart and kind colleagues. The culture at work is informal, the work atmosphere is very good. We are working on inventing new technology, so the work always offers new challenges. I really appreciate the freedom I get to decide how to do my job. There is room for contributing new ideas. The company has a drive for high quality. Salaries are very good, we have regular company outings or...

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    It can sometimes be difficult to find out who has the knowledge on some part of our product.

    ActiveVideo2019-05-10
  4. Nuttig (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Hilversum
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk deeltijd bij ActiveVideo voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    The product is very disruptive in the marketplace of Set-Top-Boxes and is based on some interesting technologies. You will never stop learning, in combination with some very nice colleagues I would say: Welcome!

    Minpunten

    It is hard to get some good new colleagues so we cannot fly as high as we want.

    Advies aan management

    Keep focussed and we will reach our goals

    ActiveVideo2019-05-07
  5. Nuttig (2)

    "A very nice place to work with very intetesring colleagues"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Senior Software QA Engineer in Hilversum
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij ActiveVideo voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    The company has changed a lot in the last 3 years. After a few internal changes it transitioned from a traditional start up to a predictable, though still flexible, software company. In this process the types of people that the new style of working appealed to has changed, and the people who liked more the start up feel from the start left the company. In stead a lot of new, smart and varied background people have joined...

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    The company has one disproportionately big customer that likes to throw his weight around and even though that generates a lot of revenue, also dictates around 50% of what we work on. It is up to you to pull your well argumented and passionate ideas around for the other 50%.

    Advies aan management

    Keep up the transparency and make sure we all work together towards the same goal!

    ActiveVideo2019-05-07
  6. Nuttig (2)

    "Great company for proactive people"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Lead QA Engineer in Hilversum

    Ik werk voltijd bij ActiveVideo voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    I've been working at ActiveVideo for more than 3 years and my experience with the company so far has been positive. What I appreciate most about it is that it nurtures an environment for proactive people and thought leaders. It's not the kind of place where you can expect things to be handed to you in a way that it can happen in corporations, where your role is clearly defined and the boundaries of your ownership/"territory"...

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    For some people, the "you have to ask for it or do it yourself" approach does not work well. Some processes within engineering are still to be figured out as they grew "organically", which is not something everybody is comfortable with figuring out. The plus side is that the colleagues are very helpful and the knowledge exists within the company, but with some things the structured approach still lacks.

    ActiveVideo2019-05-07
  7. Nuttig (2)

    "Nice place"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    Huidige werknemer - Software Engineer in Hilversum
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht

    Ik werk voltijd bij ActiveVideo voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    I have been working for ActiveVideo for 1,5 years now and I have to say it matches all my expectations I got from the people who interviewed me. Nice and friendly environment/people, interesting technology to work on. The culture inside the company is family-like.

    Minpunten

    We work on a complex product that has a few releases yearly. From my previous job I was used to a very fast pace and releases weekly. It's nice to take care of quality and delivering a nice product, but sometimes because of the lack of deadline it can be too laid back. The upside is that it's less stressful.

    ActiveVideo2019-04-25
  8. Nuttig (3)

    "Interesting software and smart people"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij ActiveVideo

    Pluspunten

    - Smart people to work with. People are open minded as well - Complex and interesting software - Flat organisation

    Minpunten

    - The location is not ideal if you don't have a direct train connection. - Would be nice if we had some more events with the whole team.

    Advies aan management

    - Keep going

    ActiveVideo2018-11-19
  9. Nuttig (4)

    "Exciting company and product"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Software Engineer in Hilversum
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij ActiveVideo voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Very nice colleagues who know their stuff and an exciting product to work on. Sometimes there can be some work pressure, but this is normal in this industry and it has been organized in a different (better) way recently. The atmosphere among people is good. There are collective social activities at least twice a year.

    Minpunten

    Early 2018 the company had to let go a number of people to make it healthy. Now that we're making profit again, times have changed in a positive manner.

    ActiveVideo2018-10-25
  10. Nuttig (4)

    "Lost"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Software Engineer in Hilversum
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij ActiveVideo voor meer dan 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Nice colleagues, very reasonable salaries.

    Minpunten

    Company is lost since acquisition about 3 years ago. No vision, no sales, no future. People are considered single-use disposables. Be careful giving up your current life to work for this EOL company.

    Advies aan management

    Start actually managing instead of talking. Choose a strategy with an horizon longer than two or three working days.

    ActiveVideo2018-05-22
Er zijn 40 reviews gevonden