Reviews voor Industrial Light & Magic | Glassdoor.nl

Reviews van Industrial Light & Magic

Bijgewerkt op sep 18, 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

Er zijn 111 reviews gevonden

3.1
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
32%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
33%
Waardeert directeur
Industrial Light & Magic CEO Lynwen Brennan
Lynwen Brennan
50 Beoordelingen
  1. "Protect Artists, Not Toxic Supervisors"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Animator in Londen, Engeland
    Aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij Industrial Light & Magic

    Pluspunten

    - Very talented team with some of the most experienced people in the business. When there's challenging work, there's lots of opportunity to learn from them and grow as an artist.- Reasonably laid back working style. There's not a lot of pressure forcing artists to work unpaid overtime during the weekdays. Weekend work can be necessary during crunch time but the artists are always given the choice of saying no... if they have other commitments. - HR is helpful and understanding if there are personal issues interfering with work. - Nice facilities including bicycle parking and showers with fresh towels. Very useful for people commuting with bicycle or going to the gym before or after work. - Better pay compared to other VFX Facilities in London.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    - While most of the team consists of friendly people who are great to work with, the occasional toxic personality can really bring the entire morale down. Especially when it's a supervisor who has been complained about to the HR multiple times and the company has chosen not to take any action against. It's very discourging to see decent and talented artists being subjected to abusive and condescending behaviour, not... being protected by the employer and leaving the company or refusing to return at a later time, as a result. A company of this size and reputation should protect its employees over a single individual no matter how "important" they might be. - Little to no job security. They are unable to compete with other VFX vendors in London and cannot get decent amount of quality work as a result. And this means lots of people being let go on the regular. Unfortunately ILM has become very unreliable for artists who want to have a stable and reliable income.  - Bad management of projects causing financial loss on the regular, which in turn means Christmas bonuses are cancelled. It would be hard to complain about this, considering it's just a nice gesture and not promised or guaranteed. But it's incredibly frustrating when you're being bombarded by coorporate Disney about how amazing the company is doing, while artists are not only not being rewarded for their hardwork but are also in risk of losing their jobs. It feels like a slap in the face when the big boss gets a yearly bonus that could pay everyone's salaries for a decade.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Protect employees over management. Figure out a way to get more efficient and competetive and bring more work in London.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-09-18
  2. Nuttig (1)

    "Alright company but London doesn't have the ILM culture"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Digital Artist in Londen, Engeland
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij Industrial Light & Magic voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Great artists, amazin talents. If you like franchises, really good projects Good for the CV Good salaries There is a will to change things, but things take very long to materialise Some good Disney benefits (free parks entries)

    Minpunten

    old pipeline artist management is not great contract renewal usually done at the last minute London office doesn't get the same benefits as SF, ILM SF has a long VFX culture that didn't not reach London. uneven quality of supervisors, some are great some are bad They struggle to get new work, which resulted on a massive wave of lay off. More and more work is sent to 3rd party companies. No much space to grow,... limited career development.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    There is work in modernising the pipeline but this is moving too slowly. ILM has to find a way to be more competitive. Maybe reduce the number of supervisor, streamline some departments, be more agile with the artists. Be more reactive, everything moves too slowly.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-09-12
  3. "Good place to work"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - VFX Production Assistant in Vancouver, BC
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Industrial Light & Magic voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Good health benefits, Disney benefits.

    Minpunten

    So much overtime. Poor management.

    Advies aan management

    Terrible leadership.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-08-30
  4. "Amazing office for film buffs - plenty of talented colleagues"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Industrial Light & Magic

    Pluspunten

    Work with motivated, talented super smart colleagues on blockbuster movies. Drink coffee with supervisors who have won multiple Oscars

    Minpunten

    It's long hours, but we all know what we are getting into.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-08-18
  5. "I want to develop my knowledge and personal life"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Roto Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Niet aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij Industrial Light & Magic voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Job secure then there have much more technical knowledges

    Minpunten

    Always i will do to complete challenging work then only develop my knowledge so always i would like it

    Advies aan management

    Give me chance for pour people working to abroad then only develop knowledge and Telnet carrier

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-08-16
  6. "Over worked and under paid."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Industrial Light & Magic voor 8 jaar

    Pluspunten

    The amazing movies and quality of work

    Minpunten

    The management is a mess and full of cronyism.

    Advies aan management

    Treat loyal workers more fairly. They are the ones making the magic and churning out the pixels.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-08-04
  7. "I actually quite like this place"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in San Francisco, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Industrial Light & Magic voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    I've been around the block and I like ILM a lot because it is much more well-oiled in process. You have to learn a bit quick the processes, but this place has been good to me and building up my career. Senior leadership trained me well, and now I feel more than prepared to do anything and capable as an artist. Benefits are really nice and they pay for OT. All the medical, 401K is good, when you first receive... vacation it might seem like accrual is slow but you work OT often that it accumulates very fast. Take that as you will! I've been lucky to work with projects that are very flexible with OT, but some producers are not as flexible so it's more luck of the draw. Sometimes it's worrying because Canada is cheaper and I've wondered if San Francisco's office would lose its spot, but now I'm more than confident that San Francisco is here to stay. I feel secure more than ever and assured that if I ever left this company I can do anything.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    I'm a bit concerned with the studios in Vancouver, London, and Singapore. I don't think they get the same standard of training as San Francisco. Sometimes jobs are so bad, they always come back to San Francisco. Training and leadership (maybe incentive for SF members to move to other places?) I think is definitely needed. I got hired at the cusp of Disney buying Lucasfilm. I know this place was ran a little... differently before. You can see some Disney decisions bleed. It does feel like projects now revolve around them and approval, and not as many original projects are coming to our studio anymore because Disney vetos it. My bottom line comes down to this. I've never been to a VFX studio that was perfect, that didn't require OT and all that jazz. As sad as it's a bit of an industry standard. Hours reflect other places I've worked. If you don't like it here because of OT, it's more or less the same everywhere.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Training is not equal across the board.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-06-17
  8. "Had a great time"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Junior Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Industrial Light & Magic voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Working on the biggest/best projects in the entertainment industry, all of the time.

    Minpunten

    Chose to leave after seeing layoffs, at the same time we were hearing we'd made record earnings on films. All of the work is being outsourced.

    Advies aan management

    Fairer pay for Jr artists that live in the area, keep work in the Bay, otherwise management is pretty awesome.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-06-14
  9. Nuttig (3)

    "Under appreciated"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Production Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Industrial Light & Magic voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    The caliber of the people working there is high. ILM is the best at what it does!

    Minpunten

    There is HIGH turnover in production. The salaries are laughably low and coordinators are underappreciated in general. You have to leave the company and return if you want to get promoted beyond Coordinator.

    Advies aan management

    There is zero focus on retention.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-06-10
  10. Nuttig (6)

    "Magic is gone"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Industrial Light & Magic voor 10 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Working with some great people who bring their talent to a company that sorely lacks respect for it.

    Minpunten

    Everything. Broken pipeline, kept on life support by legacy ILMers who refuse to change. Horrible deadlines and under-bid shows that cause unmanageable chaos. Clients are verbally abusive and disrespectful to the artists making their films and ILM does NOTHING ... because clients are money. So, minimize the employees and ignore them, clients are all that matters no matter how crazy, incompetant or rude they are. ILM... has become a shadow of itself, favoring clients who meddle with pixels over and over and over until the artists lose their families, health and sanity from being overworked. ILM is just another failed VFX house propping up a broken industry enabling hack filmmakers who have no idea what they are doing and unable to allow VFX artists to do their best work because they are micromanaged into oblivion.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Listen to your employees and make the changes that enable ILM to adapt to how these shows are done now. Treat your staff with respect. They don't want donuts for doing a good job and long hours, they want raises and work/life balance in reward for their skills.

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-05-21
Er zijn 111 reviews gevonden