Reviews voor LevelUp | Glassdoor.nl

Reviews van LevelUp

Bijgewerkt op 31 jul 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

Er zijn 41 reviews gevonden

4.4
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
84%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
90%
Waardeert directeur
LevelUp CEO Seth Priebatsch
Seth Priebatsch
23 Beoordelingen
  1. "Great company"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Senior Technical Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij LevelUp voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    -Amazing support -Great community -Fantastic and fair pay with a retirement match -Free catered lunch and/or credit to eat out -Cozy office -Fun company events -Great location

    Minpunten

    -Can't think of many from when I was there a few years back

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2019-08-01
  2. "Support: Don't do it"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Support in Boston, MA
    Niet aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb korter dan een jaar als voltijd bij LevelUp gewerkt

    Pluspunten

    Young, hungry, energetic? This is the job for you if you are just fine working an extra 2+ hours per day. Free lunches, great benefits, nice office.

    Minpunten

    I immediately regretted taking this support position. Customers and vendors were belligerent about 75% of the time. An alarming number of customers were stupid and would yell at you when $10 minus a $5 coupon didn't equal $0. At other call centers, I could escalate a ticket to a manager if the customer was being especially nasty. Here I was told to suck it up. I developed an anxiety disorder and found myself crying at my desk every day. When I went to HR to figure out if I could take a leave or make accommodations, they tried to convince me to quit. Support quotas changed often, sometimes mid-month, so right when you thought you were on-track, the goal post would move. If you weren't making your numbers, other members of the team could see this and they'd often exclude you as a result. Support's culture, in contrast to the rest of the company's culture, was nasty and cliquey, likely a side-effect of the job. I couldn't have been happier to leave.

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2019-07-22
  3. Nuttig (1)

    "LevelUp acquired by GrubHub, but doing its best to maintain fun culture"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - IOS Developer in Boston, MA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij LevelUp voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    The people here are awesome. Some of the smartest people I've ever worked with and they're all around my age (25 at the time of writing this review). I think the average age is something like 28-30. Everyone's eager to help each other learn and get better at what they do. Very collaborative environment. No dress code (at least for engineering positions). Something that LevelUp does best is keeping account management (AMs) away from its developers. At my previous job, AMs constantly came up to me asking me to switch gears and do something for them. It was so stressful and I hated it. That has not happened once in the year and a half I've worked here. Management has guidelines in place to prevent account managers from bombarding the developers with tasks. They must go through a formal ticket creation and grooming flow before the task reaches the developer. Regardless of the acquisition, LevelUp still feels mostly like it did before the acquisition and the culture here is awesome. It's super diverse, everyone promotes equality, and company values are super important to the employees.

    Minpunten

    The initial acquisition by Grubhub was a little rough. We had a ton of meetings and we lost some benefits, but not the change in benefits wasn't too bad (at least for me, a single 25 year old male). I still work on LevelUp specific code, but some of my teammates have transitioned full-time to working on the Grubhub app which looks cool but I've heard dealing with their development team can be pretty painful. Grubhub's dev team is not present in the LevelUp Boston office so all communication is done via Slack or phone calls. Luckily, there is more than one developer working on the Grubhub codebase in the Boston office and they are very collaborative in their workflow. I think the worst part about the acquisition was that while it was happening, there was a lot of hype between LevelUp's CEO Seth, and Grubhub's former CEO Stan Chia. We were having a lot of company wide meetings with Seth and Stan for everyone to ask questions and it was going great and they appeared to be very transparent, but it seems as soon as the acquisition became final and Stan got his money, he cashed out and accepted an offer elsewhere. Seemed kinda sketch to be honest and really made me question whether the decision was a good one.

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2019-07-12
  4. Nuttig (8)

    "Hard to say what it will be in a year..."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij LevelUp voor 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    You will work with some of the smartest, funniest people ever. There is never a dull moment, you will never be bored. It is a challenging, fast paced environment that never ceases to keep you on your toes. Snack closet is on point and they have kombucha on tap. Benefits are not what they were before the Grubhub acquisition, but they are still good. Managers are given a lot of freedom to run their teams the way they want. Micromanagement is non-existent, mostly people because don’t have time to. For the most part, it is a company of really good, passionate people.

    Minpunten

    Upper management has a tough time communicating with one another and communicating down to middle management and the rest of the company. The acquisition with Grubhub was not smooth and the company has seen a lot of attrition. This is to be expected, but the way certain things were handled was pretty poor. People crush themselves at the company and there isn’t a lot of appreciation from the top for that effort - all of the appreciation comes from your peers and middle management. It feels as though the magic and culture of LevelUp is being stripped away with the acquisition which is sad to see, though expected. It will be interesting to see what the company and culture looks like once the dust settles. Loyalty is paramount to the CEO. I saw many folks from middle and upper management leave post acquisition and despite the endless hours and effort a lot of these people put into the company, helping to build the teams and culture and talent that really positioned us to be acquired, there was no expressed appreciation from the CEO as these people left. This could also be a product of the fact that this is a true engineering organization, run by engineers, and the people aspect of running a business sometimes gets lost.

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2019-01-11
  5. Nuttig (2)

    "Amazing company!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb deeltijd gewerkt bij LevelUp

    Pluspunten

    - Fun, learning based culture - Inclusive (they make you feel part of the family right away) - Tons of perks like free food, company events, unlimited paid vacation, and dogs! - An invested and communicative leadership team

    Minpunten

    - Just got bought by a bigger company so culture could change - Nothing really negative, it is the best work experience I have ever had

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2018-11-06
  6. "Senior Support"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij LevelUp

    Pluspunten

    Excellent company leadership, a driven and intelligent workforce, top notch benefits, a fun office environment with great perks, positive and motivated company culture. The ability to acquire new skills and try out exciting projects.

    Minpunten

    Work volume is high but manageable.

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2018-09-02
  7. Nuttig (6)

    "Great Company, Poor Work-Life Balance"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij LevelUp

    Pluspunten

    Solid pay. Absolutely fantastic benefits package (medical, vision, dental, 401k, vesting, vacation time). Wonderful co-workers!

    Minpunten

    The support department appears to be one that suffers a bit more than the other departments. Lunches are half the length (30 minutes compared to the 60 minutes every other department gets), and the support ticket quotas are a moving goal post. Things appeared to be getting better when I left, but I remember at least one interaction where a co-worker (who was staying on long after it was time to get off) was crying at their desk, due to the demands of the position

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2018-08-27
  8. Nuttig (1)

    "Growth & Professional Development Abound"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Boston, MA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij LevelUp voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    - wonderful growth paths and constant opportunities for professional development - amazing company culture and frequently held fun/engaging social events - a consideration of you as an individual and not just an employee

    Minpunten

    - interdepartmental communication is sometimes lacking

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2018-03-22
  9. "Good company, management could be tighter"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Voormalige werknemer - BDR in Boston, MA
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij LevelUp voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Great company, great atmosphere, great people. Open-office plan with communication and teamwork encouraged. Daily catered lunch, fun trips and frequent "lunch & learn" sessions with guest speakers and activities.

    Minpunten

    Worked in a sales role and quotas were nearly impossible to hit. However, management did little to adjust strategy and instead just hounded us to raise our numbers. Very little initial training.

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2017-12-28
  10. Nuttig (1)

    "Great people, fun work environment"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Engineer in Boston, MA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij LevelUp

    Pluspunten

    Excellent engineering (and overall) team. Lots of interesting problems to work on. Fantastic benefits and plenty of opportunity for advancement.

    Minpunten

    Outgrowing our office leads to some crowding and contention for resources (conference rooms etc).

    Verder lezen
    LevelUp2017-10-24
Er zijn 41 reviews gevonden